Gratitude

I woke up tired this morning. After I finished ranting to my computer last night, I was drained and sad. I wandered downstairs and eyed the ads then walked into my parents’ room to give my dad a hug and tell him how thankful I am to have him. He smiled and we talked about this and that, relaxed. My mom came in and I gave her a hug and told her I was happy to have her in my life too. When I left, I picked up the Sear’s Outlet ad on the table, walked into the kitchen, and rooted around in the cutlery drawer for matches. I didn’t know what I was doing; wasn’t really in it anymore. Tilly wanted to go outside with me but I didn’t want to risk her barking and waking any neighbors. I pulled it shut behind me. When I stepped outside, I looked up at the hard glassy stars in clear sky. Orion’s belt twinkled lightly, as always. Perhaps I saw the dippers too. I stood beneath the stars and considered striking a match to the newspaper. When I looked in the matchbox, however, I realized I had picked the tiny box of wooden giraffes. I do not know what their purpose is but they do not ignite. Relieved, slightly ashamed, and weary, I slid the drawer of the block closed, glanced up at the sky again, and went inside.

Leave a Reply

